Posted by: oldsalt1942 | September 10, 2009

Monet Shantyboat?

I recently stumbled across the blog http://shoreacres.wordpress.com/. The blog’s author, Linda Leinen is a wonderful wordsmith and I have enjoyed browsing through her stories. She and I share the common experience of spreading varnish over yachts neither one of us (at least not me) could afford and the pleasure to be found in an outdoor work environment.

In one of her posts about the French Impressionist painter Claude Monet there was the picture titled Le Bateau-atelier (The boat workshop). It certainly has the shantyboat aura to me.

monetboat

Responses

  1. God dag ! Nice pages !
    I have read recently (but… where ? In the fantastic boat magazine “Chasse-Maree” ?) an article about this atelier flottant (floating workshop)… I am not sure Monet was the owner, but may be Gustave Caillebotte (Caillebote ?), another “boheme” painter on the river Marne… I will think about… Yves, Norway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

